Springfield's Tyrian Masonic Lodge History and Organization


Springfield's Tyrian Masonic Lodge was organized under dispensation in Springfield Illinois November tenth, 1859, and on the second day of October 1860, was constituted by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, in the presence of the Grand Lodge of Illinois, as Tyrian Lodge No. 333, A. F. & A. M.  


While working under dispensation, five candidates were initiated. and four were passed and raised. Those raised were George R. Teasdale, William Billington, Walter C. Whitney and Peter M. Pitcher, all of whom joined in the petition for a charter, one. being installed as Junior Deacon. By August 31, 1865, this band of ten had grown to fifty-two.

Since that time Tyrian Lodge 333 has been active in the Illinois Freemasons, Grand Lodge of Illinois and has had thousands of members who have carried on the Masonic tradition.


The first officers installed were:

  • Worshipful Master - Orlin H. Miner

  • Senior Warden - Harman G. Reynolds

  • Junior Warden - Charles D. Coon

  • Treasurer - John S. Bradford

  • Secretary - Eugene L. Gross

  • Senior Deacon - R. D. Lawrence

  • Junior. Deacon - George R. Teasdale


Springfield Illinois' Tyrian Lodge No. 333 has been a working masonic lodge in Springfield Illinois since 1860 and has a rich history in the Springfield community.


Our stated meetings are held on the second Wednesday of every month beginning at 7:30.


The meetings are held at:

1020 Rickard Rd

Springfield, IL 62704

Tyrian Masonic Lodge No.333 | 1020 Rickard Rd, Springfield IL 62704-1096 | Chartered by the Grand Lodge of A.F. & A.M. of the State of Illinois

©1860 Tyrian Lodge No.333